Still

When I step outside, the midday air is frigid and preternaturally still.

I don’t need a forecast to know a windstorm is brewing.

019

The weak December sun shines through a thin milky veil,

giving zero warmth to my upturned face.

024

Billowing white wisps of cloud skirt the horizon.

Their gentle symmetry belies what is to come.

021

I see my breath float in the cold tranquility

as I stand on my frost-covered deck,

scarcely believing it will be +5C by morning.

020

Nothing moves.

Nothing makes a sound.

Peaceful, but…

028

…an eerie sense of what is impending looms,

a premonition of the gathering gale

far out at sea..

027

…and with it, the inevitability

of this quiet calm 

vanishing by nightfall.

032

*Travel Theme: “Still”@wheresmybackpack.com

34 thoughts on “Still

  1. Wow Jennifer I love your words matching those amazing photo’s what a paradise you live in, I hope you weathered the storm. More please, I think winter has so much more to offer…. photography wise. We don’t get snow I wish we did.

    • Quite the contrast. It’s colder than usual too, normally it wouldn’t be this cold until late January into February. And we had snow that stayed earlier. I’ll probably have a heart attack when the heat bill arrives. :/

  2. I did get a sense of quiet, but that would be inside your heart because I’m sure the sound there beside the Atlantic Ocean would be VAST & HUGE! Looking forward to more from you Jennifer.

    • Hi, Susan. Thanks for your comment! Yes, usually the ocean here is making plenty of lovely noise, but on the day I took these pics the bay was full of immobile ice. Perhaps I should have mentioned that in the post because it may be hard to see it is ice out there and not waves. :)

I Love Comments!

