A Look Back, A Look Ahead

Happy 2016, everyone!

giphy
giphy.com

Okay. Now that we’ve gotten that out of our systems, let’s move on, shall we?

It’s a brand new year and a time when many of us who blog like to reflect on what we’ve achieved over the past twelve months, and where we are now headed.

I won’t bore you with all the statistical details, but I do want to mention the top two posts from Jennifer’s Journal in 2015 just in case you missed them or wish to take another peek. Out of 76 blog entries for the year, these are the posts that received the most comments and visits:

1. Book Deal! (April)

2. Berg Watching (June)

And as I have been each year, I am ever so grateful for my most active 2015 blogger commenters. My sincere appreciation goes out to all who follow my blog.

I noticed a couple of my blogger friends have come up with a special word to inspire and to keep them focused in the year ahead. I think it’s such a fine idea, I am offering a word of my own:

Accomplishment

By the spring of 2016, my first book will be published. The release of Calmer Girls, a Young Adult novel, is an accomplishment I have long dreamed of. I’m hoping my special word will give me the extra little push to finish its sequel well before the end of spring. This way it can be ready for my editor when the first one is released.

In between promoting Calmer Girls and editing the sequel, I hope to find time for photography, poetry, and the gathering of research for a third work. This new novel will be a total departure from the first two with new characters, an entirely new setting, and possibly a different genre. I expect it might be my most challenging writing project yet.

What accomplishments or progress have you made since last January?
What are your creative goals for 2016? Share your thoughts below!

Still need a little more New Year celebrating? Haven’t had your fill of fireworks?

Here you go!

giphy (2)
http://www.faithholland.com/

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “A Look Back, A Look Ahead

  1. Jennifer I am so excited for you, it will be a big year and I can’t wait to buy and read your book. Don’t forget to ask for guest blog spots with all your blogging friends I would love to feature you when the book is out. I will return time and again to your site because you always have something interesting to share. Here’s to an amazing 2016.

    Like

    1. Kath, whatever the coming year brings I have no regrets. At the very least I will make a start as an author and gain valuable experience. My eyes are wide open to the fact that it is an extremely competitive industry and my sales may not amount to what I dream of. But that’s the nature of the business.

      Guest blog spots could be beneficial, thanks for offering! 😘

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your soon to be released book, Jennifer. It’s a big accomplishment to write a novel and an even bigger one to have it traditionally published. Thank you for the mention. 2015 was a year full of learning for me, and I’m already reading more writing craft books this year. Like you, I may change genres–actually I may change to nonfiction (as in memoir, poetry and devotionals). I will most likely self-publish these as it’s almost impossible to break into the Christian traditional publishing market as is. Time will tell. In the meantime I’m slowing down and pacing myself so that I have more time for my non-writing hobbies too.
    Balance is my goal for 2016.
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, dear Wendy. It’s a tough business to get into and even if you do get traditionally published, it isn’t easy to successfully market and promote your book. A small press will pay for getting it into print but the author has to work hard to get it into reader’s hands.
      I applaud your desire to achieve balance. I have a few other loves too, apart from writing, so I know where you’re coming from. Best wishes in reaching your writing goals as well. 🙂💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve heard that the bigger publishers don’t help much with marketing either. Much more is expected of authors than ever before, so going with a smaller company might even be better in the long run. I’m glad I enjoy social media–I’m going to need that enthusiasm to launch my own work one day. Go, Jennifer, go. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. What to say, let me think, should I say congratulations, mmmmmmm, maybe, so year I will say it Congratulaions……………I start a new year any new year with the thought that it will be a bloody great year and things will go my way and I will not get hit by a bus, or fall down a well, ok no wells around here but there are buses

    Liked by 1 person

  4. To some people it seems to take forever, but not so much for those of us who know more about the publishing industry. But yes, it is exciting! As for balancing things, I hope you aren’t too stringent with cutting back on commenting on blogs, otherwise you might drop off my list. Ha ha!

    Like

  5. Congrats Jennifer on your book being published! This must have been such an exciting time for you. 🙂 Your Mom and Dad would have been very proud, as all of your family are proud of you. Wishing you all the best with your future book sequels. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Accomplishment is a great word Jennifer. I can’t wait for your book to come out and am excited for the sequel and third book too! I’m so proud of you.

    In 2016 I hope to increase awareness about the organization I work for. I will start blogging weekly for Oxford House; sharing the great stories from there either through my writing or editing the writing of others. Wishing you the very best in 2016 Jennifer. ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Well done Jennifer and Congratulations on your book! 🙂 . Accomplishment is a great word. I am launching my first book as well this year, hopefully next month and I know how you feel. It is a great feeling to complete.

    Liked by 2 people

Talk to me.